Sigsbee Duck, MD Named WMS Physician Achievement Award Winner for 2017

Sigsbee Duck, MD has been named the 2017 Physician Achievement Award Winner from The Wyoming Medical Society

Rock Springs Otolaryngologist Takes The Society’s Top Honor for 2017

CHEYENNE – Rock Springs Otolaryngologist Sigsbee Duck, R.Ph., M.D., has been named the Wyoming Medical Society’s Physician Achievement Award winner for 2017. Duck has been a practicing otolaryngologist for more than 35 years, with the past 20 having been spent in Gillette, then Rock Springs. He currently practices at Memorial Hospital of Sweetwater County, where he just finished two years in the role as Chief of Staff for the facility.

“I am genuinely appreciative and humbled to receive this award,” said Duck. “I proudly accept this honor on behalf of myself and the many physicians I have had the pleasure to know in our state who work diligently, without recognition, to maintain and improve the quality of health care in our great state.” 

The WMS Physician Achievement Award honors an outstanding Wyoming medical doctor from nominations submitted by colleagues, hospitals, healthcare professionals, and friends who believe their nominee stands out from the crowd, whether it be through medical innovation and clinical decision-making, or leadership within their communities. Physicians eligible for nomination must be Wyoming licensed physicians in good standing with the Board of Medicine and active members of the Wyoming Medical Society. Duck’s award puts him among select company with some of Wyoming’s more revered physicians. Click here to read a complete list of physician winners of the award.

“Dr. Duck demonstrated his commitment to his patients, community and state throughout his career in Wyoming,” said Wyoming Medical Society Board of Trustees President Paul Johnson, MD. “It is with great honor that we bestow this award to Dr. Duck. I count him as a colleague and a friend.”

Duck completed his undergraduate education at Mars Hill College, and Wake Forest University, where he earned a degree in French. He then attended Pharmacy School at Mercer University School of Pharmacy, before attending East Carolina University School of Medicine. He thereafter served a general surgery internship at the University of Kentucky Medical Center before completing his residency at Emory University.

Duck served as President of the Wyoming Medical Society Board of Trustees from July 2015-July 2016. He has previously taken a leadership role in both Rock Springs and Gillette serving as president of the Campbell County and Sweetwater County Medical Societies.

In his community Duck has also served as airport board member in both Campbell and Sweetwater Counties and was recently appointed by Wyoming Governor Matt Mead to serve on the Wyoming Aeronautics Commission. As a Registered Pharmacist, he was appointed to the Wyoming Board of Pharmacy by Governor Mead and served on that board from 2012-2016. He is a proud member of the Triological Society, an academic society within otolaryngology, having served as Western Section Vice President in 2008.

Otolaryngologists are physicians trained in the medical and surgical management and treatment of patients with diseases and disorders of the ear, nose, throat (ENT), and related structures of the head and neck. They are commonly referred to as ENT physicians.

He has been married to his lovely wife, Cindy, for 35 years and they have three grown children. Duck enjoys cooking, golf, flying and wine.

The Wyoming Medical Society was founded in 1903 to provide representation, advocacy and service to Wyoming physicians. We strive to be an efficient, member-driven, responsive organization, capable of anticipating and responding swiftly to the changing health care environment. WMS serves our membership, and their patients, and works to improve the health of Wyoming’s citizens.